Leek and Cauliflower Cheesy Soup.

IMG_5495.JPG

My weight loss  is sort of going to plan.I have managed to stop gorging on Xmas Pate and Coleslaw but only because it’s not there any more. My name is Jenny and I am a Binger and as one of my  friends said to me, inside is a morbidly obese, chain smoking alcoholic that has to be trussed up at all times. She was talking about herself but it is totally me too. I would so love to spend all my  time  squiffy with a cigarette hanging out of my mouth (in a glamorous red lipstick way ) stuffing my face with Chips, Cake and huge bars of Galaxy whenever it simply took my fancy. Basically it’s how I spent my twenties, lots of black Coffee, Cigarettes and Vodka with not an avocado or second thought in sight. God it was lush. But of course come your  thirties and the party’s over. These unhealthy habits only bite you on the arse and give you an even bigger one with dimples. So as I feel the cold hearted Mistress of Middleage’s breath close on my shoulder  the time has come to leave the Xmas excesses behind, embrace the vegetable and step away from the Burger Van, Marlboro Lights and  Tequila…in the sure and certain hope that I will resemble Kylie Minogue  by April……..there has to be hope…

This is a bobby dazzler of a recipe to help with your Cold Turkey. It’s Cheesy and savoury and seriously delicious. It’s perfect for Winter, full of vegetables that love each other and you could throw some pasta and chunks of ham to make a heartier meal if you needed something more. I usually serve homemade rolls or toast with Soup. I don’t think you can beat it but fresh Tiger Bread from Tescos comes a close second. Who needs a dirty kebab?….

  • 1 large cauliflower
  • 3 medium leeks
  • 1 litre chicken/ vegetable stock
  • 100g mature cheddar cheese
  • 50g parmesan cheese
  • 50g butter
  • 50g flour
  • 400ml milk
  • salt and pepper
  • knob of butter and 2 tbsps olive oil

Method

  1. Fry chopped leeks in a large frying pan in a knob of butter and olive oil over a gentle heat, so as not to burn, for five mins or until soft. Putting a lid on top helps to soften them quicker.
  2. Chop up the cauliflower into slices and add to the pan with the leeks and pour over the stock and leave to gently simmer with lid on until soft-about 15/20 mins.Be careful not to let the veg burn.
  3. Meanwhile melt butter in a saucepan and then add flour and mix together to form a roux.Add the milk and using a whisk break down and disperse the roux within the added milk and bring to the boil while whisking.It will form lumps but if you keep whisking they will disappear and a shiny white sauce will appear.
  4. Add the cheese and simmer gently for ten mins.
  5. Either use a blending stick or a food processor to whizz the cheese sauce and contents of the vegetable pan together and season to taste.Add more stock or water if the soup is too thick.
  6. Apply to middle-aged face.
R is for Hoppit

themumproject

8 thoughts on “Leek and Cauliflower Cheesy Soup.

  1. Hahah I feel exactly the same, my inner cigarette smoking morbidly obese self comes out every now and again but much less often after The Child. I think I can only handle glimpses of my former self in my new life haha. The recipe looks delish! Thanks for sharing with #stayclassymama!

    Like

Leave a Reply

