Thai Turkey Noodles

fullsizerender-29

Well I am exhausted and considerably more overweight than a week ago. In fact I’m massive, my food belly is about 38 weeks and three days. My head is full of Slimming Soups and Ryvita whilst my heart is still buried face first in the leftovers. I should only be allowed near the fridge under supervision or wearing a gimp mask with my hands tied behind my back. The truth is I cannot be stopped until all has gone and the fridge is bare.I  find it impossible to not help myself to a nibble or three every time I pass. I feel like I’m on a Cruise. Has anyone seen the mobility scooters?

This is a dish for your Turkey leftovers and it is lush.I visited Thailand seven years ago and fell in love with it’s food and flavours. Sweet, salty,  with a little heat this is a Satay of sorts, simple and so easy to put together.Truly in the spirit of all that is a Xmas leftover.  Festive to the last.

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 3 tbsps peanut butter (chunky)
  • 1 tbsp fish sauce
  • 1 tbsp rice wine
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp sweet chilli sauce
  • 2 tsp tamarind paste
  • 6 spring onions trimmed
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1/2 bunch of coriander
  • squeeze of lime juice
  • 250g Turkey slices/chunks
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 300g packet of noodles

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180 C. Place all ingredients apart from the noodles and turkey into the food processor and blitz to a smooth paste.img_2536
  2. Take half of the paste and coat the turkey with it and place in a moderate oven to warm through for ten mins or until hot.img_2538
  3. Prepare noodles according to instructions (usually just a blast from the microwave)
  4. Mix the remaining paste with the noodles.I usually chop them in half before mixing to save much tangling.
  5. Remove turkey from the oven and place on top of noodles.
  6. Apply to chubby face.

I think some tender stem broccoli served with a splash of soy sauce is perfect with this.

I have linked this post up with FiestaFriday.net. – The Not So Creative Cook – Ginger & Bread.

I have also linked up with DreamTeam and Cook Blog Share.

Hijacked By Twins
3 Little Buttons

17 thoughts on “Thai Turkey Noodles

    1. Hi Ky it is so easy.The trick is to keep all those ingredients in the fridge as although its a faddle buying them in the first place they are used in so much asian stylee recipes you do use them up mostly.Having said that I just threw some fish sauce away from 2015!Shit!xx

      Like

  1. I am feeling the same way, Jenny. I tried hard not to go mad over Christmas but I still ate way to much and the scales are now showing a much bigger number than before Christmas. It didn’t help that I was so busy over the holidays I didn’t find any time to go for a run…went for my first in nearly two weeks this morning and felt much better! It’s hard being strict at this time of the year, when there’s that big old Christmas cake winking at me every time I go in the kitchen!! I love this recipe – I too love Thai food (never been there though, would love to one day) and clearly great minds think alike as my lastest recipe is a Thai one too! Yours sounds like it is packed with flavour but not too many calories, perfect for this time of year!! Eb x

    Like

  2. I always crave lighter, healthier meals in January after all of the over indulgence of Christmas. This meal sounds perfect for leftover turkey! It look and sounds so tasty. Thank you for sharing with #CookBlogShare x

    Like

  3. A great way to transform turkey left overs! I still have some but it is in the freezer for another day. I like the sound of Thai flavors with the turkey, a great idea!
    Happy New Year! 🙂

    Like

  4. Our Christmas leftovers are long gone – too many hungry mouths around here for them to hang around for long! Which is probably a good thing… I have found myself eating the kids chocolates a few too many times though! This noodle dish looks lovely, I love Thai flavours. Thanks for joining in with #CookBlogShare this week x

    Like

  5. Oh yummy! I love Thai noodles and can’t resist peanut butter – I always buy the huge pots and they still disappear incredibly quickly. We’re having a late Christmas dinner some time this month and I’ll certainly keep this in mind for some of the leftovers!

    Like

  6. I completely agree Jenny, – it’d be churlish to let all of the left over Christmas food go to waste! What a great way to use up some of your turkey. It’s reminded me that hubby & I haven’t been to our local Thai restaurant in too long!
    Angela x

    Like

  7. Gosh that looks amazing. I was sick over Christmas so when everyone came over a few days later for our turn at hosting I served…. pizza :-O But, this is exactly the type of dish that would be a crowd pleaser I think. Thank you for sharing with the #DreamTeam x

    Like

Leave a Reply

